Explorer’s club

One of the things I love to do the most is to seek out new places in or around town whether they be coffee shops, hiking trails, landmarks, etc. I believe that it’s important to go on adventures, big or small, mainly because it stimulates curiosity and offers moments of happiness and excitement. I will admit that even though I can be adventurous, I’m also a major homebody. I’ve been trying to balance out these two sides of me because to be honest, as much as I love staying in on a Friday night watching 30 Rock and eating pizza, I also want to go out and see the world around me.

I’ve already been on several adventures within the last couple of weeks. I went hiking yesterday morning with my friend and we had breakfast at a vegan-friendly cafe, Green Bliss. I decided to have the gluten-free Belgian waffle and it was delicious!

Green Bliss

Last week, I went to a hockey game (go Ducks!) with another friend and it was awesome! Frankly, I wished the Ducks had scored more, but hey – they won! My friend and I celebrated by going to the nearby Ruby’s diner.

Ducks Game

The week before last week, my best friends and I went to LA and it was fantastic! We saw the Bradbury Building, ate at Grand Central Market – so much good food! – checked out the Last Bookstore, and then visited the Museum of Contemporary Art. Bottom line is: adventuring is fun and you should make the time to do it!

Grand Central

There’s nothing like doing fun things with friends. Also, please know you are always deserving of a break. Without fun, life gets dull and you lose ambition. Mark on your calendar when you can do something exciting, it doesn’t have to be an expensive experience. Even just going on a morning walk with a friend, walking the dog in the evening, going for a walk at the mall… just make sure to get out and see the world!

So, are you more of a homebody or an explorer? What are some places that you’ve currently visited? I’d love to know!

P.S. I’ve been quiet on the blog because I’ve decided to go on a social media detox. It’s amazing, by the way. I’ll admit that staying off Instagram is hard, but not checking in has worked wonders because I’ve been focusing on my life – where am I and where do I want to be? Sometimes seeing others accomplish things influences my decisions without me noticing, so leaving social media lets me focus on me without measuring myself against someone else. Do I recommend you do the same? YES. You don’t need to catch up every day on every little thing. Take some time for yourself. Enjoy life!

Leave a Reply

