Get out & run!

Hey y’all! It’s been a while since I last wrote a blog post. If you didn’t know, I started going on a social media detox and it’s been AMAZING. No worries, no stress. Just me, my life, and the wonderful people in it. I’ve been a lot more present in life and I’ve been running again after a couple of weeks of being inactive. I’m not a health guru or anything, but I like to take care of my body as best as I can.

My friends often tell me that I’m crazy for going on morning runs. I’m out the door by 7 am, which for me isn’t too early. I know there are people out there running at 5am. THAT’S crazy. (Just kidding, I admire those people!) Truth is, I love to run. Even if it sucks at first. That feeling of accomplishment after I’ve done it is rewarding and knowing that I’m improving my health bit by bit is wonderful.

I wasn’t always a runner though. In middle school, I hated phys. ed., which is why I decided to do marching band in high school because it counted as phys. ed. Plus, band always meant going on trips and Disneyland, so yeah. I had other reasons. 😉

If I can become a runner, so can anyone. I think everyone is a runner, anyway. There is no ‘runner’s body’, there is no one way to run… if you run, you’re a runner. Thinking this way helped me go out and run more. It’s all about how you think of exercise that determines how you feel about it. For example, I don’t run because I want to look good, I run because I love my body and I want to keep it in good health. It doesn’t feel like a chore.

Becoming a runner is easy, too! Here’s how:

  1. If you’re set on morning runs, leave your running shoes by your bed and your running clothes within sight. It makes it harder to change your mind because you already committed to running last night.
  2. If you’re set on evening runs, do the same. Leave your running attire within sight, and try not to eat a big meal before you go out and run. You could end up feeling sick during your run and we don’t want that!
  3. Stay hydrated! This is important. Google search how many glasses of water you should be drinking. There are some calculators out there that take into account your height and weight and suggest water intake. Minimum however, 8 glasses of water a day! 😉
  4. Run. 😀 Go out there and conquer the streets/gym/nature!

Take care my fellow runners!

xo Lexi

Leave a Reply

