Life lessons at 23

My birthday isn’t until December, but this year has proved to be one of the hardest in my life. Transitioning from college to the real world is hard. Despite the difficulties, however, I’ve been able to keep an open mind about life and to keep my optimism in the face of hardship.

It’s been a while since I’ve written a post. I’ve been trying to disconnect from the digital world for a bit. In the time that I’ve been away, I’ve learned things the hard way and although it was difficult to endure those situations, I can say that I’ve grown so much. I want to share some of the things I’ve discovered so far in the hopes that you may take away something valuable from them.

Lessons at 23…

  1. Not having a job doesn’t mean that I don’t have a life. I exist. I am a person no matter what my situation. My life will undergo change – painful as it may be – and that’s normal.
  2. Wallowing in sadness is necessary, but drowning in it isn’t. At some point, I must move on.
  3. Comparison is a thief of joy and living a life of comparison is a losing game. There will always be someone better than me. That’s ok. I am myself. My life is unique and I must live it that way.
  4. I should never stop learning. The world is full of knowledge and in that knowledge is my passion. I must read, I must create.
  5. People will come and go. If they go, it’s not my fault. It’s not theirs, either. Their purpose and my purpose for existing in each other’s lives was fulfilled. Or, who knows, maybe they’ll be a part of my life again? Maybe the story isn’t over.
  6. Just because something isn’t happening to me doesn’t mean it never well. I probably wasn’t ready and that’s ok. When the time is right, good things will happen.
  7. Anxiety can be overwhelming, but it doesn’t have to be controlling. I must take things slowly, even if it means falling behind for a bit. Mental health is important.
  8. My body is perfect the way it is. Pinching the parts I don’t like won’t change anything. Loving them will change everything.

I will continue to add more to this list as I learn.

No matter what the circumstance, always believe that you can. It may be hard at first, but believe. Believe so hard that it becomes impossible to quit. xoA

 

Leave a Reply

